Happy New Year – Lunch Only

IMG_3453The Alaina gargoyle was perched INSIDE since we had soggy/cold/colder weather for the first few days of 2015.  Alas, no YAYA trailride but we did manage a mini group lunch on New Year’s day with Kathy, Bev, Rita, Jennifer, Ashlyn, Susan and me; then on Saturday we met for lunch again with some of the party lesson girls – Gena, Joann, Patty, Bev, and Rosetta.  With rain and temps in the low thirties, riding was not appealing.  Then, today it got COLD – high of 24 and the ponies are hoping for blankets tonight.  They got lucky and are bedded down in the barn with blankets on tight.

IMG_3479On Saturday, we thought the rain had stopped.  We were wrong.  But Ivy wanted to visit Sister and we figured it was as warm as it was going to get.  It was drizzly and cold so our visit was very short.  Sister is all about the hay.  She might be a little bit pregnant.  All of Angie’s ponies love horse snacks.

But after weeks of clouds, drizzle, snow, and no riding, the sun came out on Sunday.  Did I mention it was cold?  Patty suggested a ride and I gathered my cold weather gear and headed to Inola for a little ET on Cote’.  Wow, he is a fun horse.

IMG_3492We worked in the arena until we were sure Prince was not going to buck and until I felt comfortable on my mount (thanks for the ride Angie).  We walked and trotted, did a few circles and then tried a canter.  Our canter departs were not prompt – Splash is a little more responsive if you don’t count the spurs and whip needed.  So, I got a whip and got my canters.  The we went out back in the tree farm and had a lovely ride.  My boots and gloves are really warm, my nose got a little chilled.  But I sure needed that equine therapy before I go back to work tomorrow and to Kansas Tuesday.  I am already ready for spring.

IMG_3501 IMG_3495

About yayariders

Equine obsessed woman who loves to ride horses, talk about horses, photograph horses/riders, shop for horse stuff, look at horse adds, admire fences, barns, trucks and trailers, and do all things horsey with my kids and friends.
This entry was posted in 2015 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

