NOoooooo……SNOoooooow

IMG_2609Friday afternoon and I realized that the weekend forecast included 2 (two… TWO!) inches of SNOW on Sunday.

weather1

 

 

 

weathIvy will have the opportunity to ride Kizzy on Saturday in a clinic with Tom Poulin and I had plans to ride on Sunday.  Then I saw the forecast and figured I better get on my horse and ride.  Before the big SNOW.

IMG_2610 - CopySplash was pretty sure work in the arena was unnecessary.  The footing is still a little squishy – the frigid temperature swings cause soil frost expansion and more moisture in a couple of days won’t help.  Before we tried canter, we stayed on the edges and circles to try to stabilize the ground while we warmed up.  Today I used my western saddle and western show bridle so that we could work on a little neck reining and leg control.  I tried to channel my inner Roberta C and keep a driving core.  After a little whip action, the core was a little more effective.  In the deep footing, left lead canter was difficult and we stopped the hard stuff after correct left lead twice.  It was “almost 40” and we rode into the sunset.     Ahhh.

 

About yayariders

Equine obsessed woman who loves to ride horses, talk about horses, photograph horses/riders, shop for horse stuff, look at horse adds, admire fences, barns, trucks and trailers, and do all things horsey with my kids and friends.
This entry was posted in 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

