Winter is Still Here

Work called me to Houston for the week but it was cold there too.  Winter storms are still causing problems all over the country and even caused my plane to get delayed coming home Thursday night.

IMG_1647While I was in Houston, Kathy O and I visited the Houston Museum of Fine Arts to see an wonderful Impressionist show.  On the way in, I spotted this Egyptian vessel lid with three horses – way cool.  Such a lovely way to spend a couple of hours before the plane and to catch up a bit with a good friend.

IMG_1690

The 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi officially started Friday with an extravaganza for TV viewing.  Promised temperatures in the 40’s didn’t materialize for Saturday but when I was ready to just do lunch, Mallory provided inspiration by calling me a coward.  The girls wimped out before we got showmanship done but Splash, Norman, Nancy and I did a couple of patterns before heading off to eat.

Mallory, Roxy, Ivy, Alaina, Lora and I were the hard core group riding Saturday morning.  We started with English rail work and Splash was pretty good.  When we switched tack to western, Splash and I were not as good.  I made some progress slowing him down along the rail.  I was wearing the BIG spurs so canter departs weren’t to bad.  Then, we worked on cone weaving (or with Splash, cone killing).  I use to much rein, get to much neck bend and we blow the pattern.  We worked some more and improved a little trying to keep Splash straight, respond to leg pressure and to actually weave.  We were still pretty bad.  Patty  got the lung whip!  Was it for me or Splash (no one really knows).   I asked if she was going to get me bucked off and Patty said:  “I hope not.”  Not reassuring.  With Patty on whip duty to help keep things moving, we got a few good cone weaves done and so quit while we were ahead.

Two weeks until the Will Rogers Classic – I think I need more time!

IMG_1656

 

About yayariders

Equine obsessed woman who loves to ride horses, talk about horses, photograph horses/riders, shop for horse stuff, look at horse adds, admire fences, barns, trucks and trailers, and do all things horsey with my kids and friends.
This entry was posted in 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

