ODS/GCC March Madness Dressage Schooling Show – March 17, 2013

As always, our wonderful GCC board put on a lovely show at the Claremore Expo.  My rides?  Well, they could have been better but I didn’t fall off.  I spent the morning scribing for Sherry Guess.  She is great to scribe for – patient with her scribe and good at clarifying her comments.  We had a few issues with pigeons in the arena – very loud flapping.  Then we had some power problems that caused brief lighting outages.  I jumped every time but the horses didn’t seem to care.  We got a bit behind schedule.  The lunch break got shortened and I wolfed my food and ran to the trailer to tack up and warm up. 

Not enough time. 

A couple of riders scatched, and since we were running late, we were past my ride time too.  I mounted and without any warm up, went into the arena to ride my first test (T-3).  The score wasn’t bad, but the ride was awful.  I was stressed and Splash was still in his “my best gait is standing in the pasture” mode.  Our first canter depart was “reluctant” and very late.  I did recieve 3 7’s including a 7 for the “stretchy circle.”  We have been working on that.  Sherry says:  “don’t throw this horse on his forehand” during our downward transitions.  We raced back to the trailer to change tack for Western Dressage.  I skipped changing cloths so missed a chance to show off my GREEN BLING shirt but I didn’t think there was enough time.  Although my score wasn’t much higher, I felt much better after the test because I didn’t feel flustered.  Paula W gave me some advice before the ride and since posting is now optional in most WD tests, I opted to post.  That helped my keep my trots more consistant.  We recieved an 8 for our jog/change rein, a 7.5 for jog circle left, and 3 7’s.  Sherry suggests working to ride more with seat to prevent Splash from running into Bit.

401377_505875792808187_1754783785_n - Copy

Ivy and Sister also rode one English and one Western test.  For T-1, there were some moments with good activity.  Sister is fusy in the bridle and counter bent on left lead canter.  Ivy needs to work on geometry but had some calm/obedient moments in downward transitions.  Their western test had two 7’s on jogs.246487_505868252808941_181530723_n

Alaina and Sunny did two western tests.  Right lead is better for she still leans in.  Their best moment in B-4 was the final halt (8).  In L1-1, their best movment was the intro halt (8) but there were several 7’s.  They need to work on stretch as well as bend.

Alaina tried a couple of the old western dressage tests last year but Ivy and I hadn’t tried it yet.  The Western Dressage Association published new tests and the rules for all of us Newbies – check them out here:  http://www.westerndressageassociation.org/western-dressage-rules-tests/  The tests seem ideal for a horse like Splash, nice mover but very lazy.  My biggest problem was handling those pesky western reins.  I need to work on that before the next show.

March Madness II  Sherry Guess
Rider/Horse Test Score Place
Cathy/Splash TL-3 61.2 2
WDBasic-4 62.79 1
Alaina/Sunny WDBasic-4 57.79 1
WDLevel1-1 60.54 1
Ivy/Sister TL-1 56.67 1
WDBasic-1 55.91 1
About yayariders

Equine obsessed woman who loves to ride horses, talk about horses, photograph horses/riders, shop for horse stuff, look at horse adds, admire fences, barns, trucks and trailers, and do all things horsey with my kids and friends.
This entry was posted in 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

